Subscribe:
Chat:

Reviews

Thursday, May 22, 2014 - 21:05 by Bren

X-Men: Days of Future Past

I’ve been waiting for this adaptation for a while, and there was always a risk that getting so excited for a film could lead to crushing disappointment.  Hell, it wouldn’t be the first time that I’ve been looking forward to a film only to have it leave me feeling empty and broken hearted.. Prometheus, I’m looking squarely at you.  Fortunately, Days of Future past does not disappoint.  Any worries that this adaptation of a favourite story might get it all wrong are very quickly put to rest.  It grabs you from the start, knows exactly how to balance action and character building, and tells one hell of a story.

We start in a bleak future where mutants are rounded up and executed en masse by the Sentinels, robots designed by Boliver Trask.  Having identified a key date in the history of the Sentinel war, Prof X and Magneto gather, with the handful of surviving mutants, and enact a plan for Kitty Pryde to send Wolverine’s consciousness back in time to the 70’s to try and stop Mystique setting this future in motion. 

In the 70’s we find that time has not been kind to a now reclusive Charles Xavier.  His school closed and run down, and he is a man tortured by his choices, and who takes some convincing to get back in the chair; so to speak.

It is interesting here that Wolverine becomes the voice of reason, while Charles is the more reactionary and angry character, full of doubt and struggling to find his way.  It is a nice mirror of the established relationship we know from the original X-Men films, and one that they riff on nicely.  See kids, you can have superb character development in a superhero movie.

There really is so much to love about this film.  The fact that it shares enough in common with the comic is one.  It shows a level of respect for the source that I appreciate seeing, it’s only the names that have really changed. (Wolverine goes back in time rather than Kitty Pryde, Trask is the target of the assassination that triggers the Sentinel program rather than Senator Kelly)  

The cast are brilliant, and this is Fox handling a big ensemble cast film almost as well as Marvel did with the Avengers.  Peter Dinklage is great as Trask, and once again James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender are brilliant as friends with significant idealogical clashes.  Then there’s Jennifer Lawrence, who brilliantly brings a level to Mystique that we haven’t seen before; a scene where she finds Trask’s files on his mutant experimentation is really quite moving.

But if anyone is going to end up stealing the show, then I rather feel that it will be Evan Peters as Quicksilver (Aaron Taylor Johnson, the bar has been set. High).  He plays it with a cocky charm, and plays it well.  The Magneto jailbreak set piece is one of the most glorious extended sequences I’ve seen.  Truly, truly wonderful.  Also, there’s a glib comment made to Magneto that probably pushes the Marvel/Fox licensing agreements on the character as far as they can without breaking it.  Cheeky, but fucking wonderful.

In order to put some balance on the review I should probably say that I wasn’t massively keen with the ending.  Singer does a good job flipping back and forth between the 70’s and the Future, seeing cause and effect in action and tying them together.  The problem is that all the peril is happening in the future but we have spent most of the movie with the characters from First Class, meaning the attachment needed to really drive drama isn’t there.  Which is a real shame because characters like Blink, Warpath, Sunspot and Bishop deserve more.  

There’s closure for some characters in the post-showdown, altered future; one that redresses the awful decisions made in X3.  It’s a little schmaltzy in places, and I hope it’s just there to close the book on the original trilogy, and give the cast a good send off.

There’s also no explanation as to how future Wolverine has his adamantium claws back, it’s like Singer just had the final 20 minutes of “The Wolverine” wiped from his memory.  Lucky bastard.

It doesn’t feel quite as fulfilling as Avengers Assemble did, but it does at least feel like a film made by someone who “gets” the X-Men, and it really is a very, very good film.  I would happily pay to see it again at the cinema, and given how much that costs nowadays that’s a pretty big deal.

8.5/10 (ignore the star rating below on this one, it doesn't do half stars...)

P.S.  Obviously there is an end credit teaser, so stick around for it.

Rating:
8
Topics:
Thursday, May 22, 2014 - 17:49 by Bren

It’s that time of year again folks, Summer Blockbuster season.  Traditionally tied to Memorial Day weekend at the end of May in the US, it has been creeping earlier in May for a while now.

One could argue that it started back in March this year with the release of Captain America 2: The Winter Soldier.  For the sake of those films coming out over the next few months though, it’s probably best if we keep Cap 2 separate; you know, to give these guys a fighting chance.

We’re going to kick off the season with a double bill of reviews.  Here goes...

GODZILLA

First up is Godzilla, I’ll let you make your own “Monster” puns here, and it’s a pretty good way to kick off the season.

The film starts in 1999,  where an unusual discovery in the Philippines leads to a meltdown at a nuclear plant in Japan.  A meltdown which is thought to have been caused by the earthquakes in the Philippines, and a meltdown that has a lasting impact on the life of plant employee Joe Brody. (Cranston)

Flash forward to the current day and we find Brody obsessed with finding the truth of what happened back in 1999, an obsession that drags his now adult son Ford Brody (Taylor Johnson) back to Japan to bail him out and bring him back to the US. When scientists at the secretly rebuilt plant start noticing seismic readings similar to those that led to the disaster in 1999, Brody Snr is convinced he is finally going to get answers.  His answers arrive in the form of a M.U.T.O (Massive Unidentified Terrestrial Organism) who precedes to wreak havoc, and whose arrival leads to the awakening of, King of the Monsters, Godzilla.  

From there the film descends into typical action/disaster fair, as the military races to prevent a devastating confrontation between Godzilla and the M.U.T.O.s off the west coast of the US.

For the most part Director Gareth Edwards handles it very well, he is clearly a fan of the genre, and the whole movie is essentially a glorious $170million B-Movie.  The problem is that it could, and probably should, have been more.  It drags significantly in the second act, which revolves around the depressingly wooden Taylor Johnson, who whilst being generally uninteresting as a character does atleast display a hint of chemistry with Elisabeth Olsen, who plays his wife.  The two of them will be appearing together again next year in Avengers: Age of Ultron, and they are going to need to step it up a bit (especially given the performance of a certain character in the second of these reviews...)

Ken Watanabe is criminally underused as the only scientist who really seems to “get” what Godzilla is all about, and his belief that the military should just let Godzilla fight was met with a few nods of approval from the audience.  

Also, whilst budgetary restraints may have been behind Gareth Edwards decision to keep the monsters of screen in his first foray into monster movies (see, Monsters), clearly he is not under the same constraints here.  This means that his decision to delay Godzilla’s first appearance (he makes us wait about an hour) was clearly an artistic choice.  It’s one that I was actually ok with, although I can understand why some people would have been a bit pissed off by it.

Like the final act of the film though, let’s finish the review on a high.  The third act is genuinely awesome.  It is everything I could have hoped for as Godzilla finally gets down to business and starts fucking up those pesky MOTUs, in a series of spectacularly destructive battles.  Seriously, they take destruction of a city to a level that has Superman and General Zod turning round to the authorities and saying “See guys, we could have done worse...”

Fantastic final act aside, the rest of the film suffers from a lack of characters that you can really get behind, and suffers from a second act that drags, and so in conclusion, Godzilla is a good film that could have been great.    

A solid 7/10

Next up. X-Men:Days of Future Past

Rating:
7
Topics:
Wednesday, May 21, 2014 - 19:56 by Spindles

Picking up where we left things last week, Jack fairly effortlessly storms the US embassy, retrieves the flight key from Tanner and very nearly escapes. Sealing him in the building leads to Jack locking himself in a comms room with some hostages and a cyberblag ensures that he's in there for the rest of the show. Being a computer geek there were many things wrong with this section of the show including utterly ludicrous IP addresses and more flashy beepiness than is really necessary for a progress bar. However I shall maintain my disbelief and allow them the blag for the purposes of creating a bit of tension on the show.

While all the situation at the embassy takes place, Heller manages to placate the combined force of the stern words of the British press and politicians and he and Audrey are brought up to speed with 'The Bauer Situation'. If there's a running theme in this episode it seems to be that the only people who believe in Jack are, as usual, the Bauer Babes: Chloe, Audrey and, as the episode progresses, Kate. Basically everyone else in the episode wants him dead without even hearing what he has to say.

Before the situation in the comms room is resolved, our catch ups with the terrorists are all about cold feet, warm hearts and missing digits. Naveed wants out, Simone turns him in to her mum and to bring him back into line Margot has her daughter's pinkie lopped off with a chisel. Another techie stalling tactic results in the episode feeling a bit like a race condition between the decryption of the flight key and the re-configuring of the override, both of which are due to resolve 'Within The Hour'.

The episode climaxes with the Bauer Babes telling their respective partners to go fuck themselves and that they are behind Jack 100%. Audrey tells her husband that he's an asshole, Chloe tells Cross that he's an asshole and Kate tells all the marines, the president, her partner and basically anyone within earshot that they're all assholes as she takes Jack into custody with the promise that she'll decrypt the info on the key and investigate the threat.

The episode closes out with the baddies readying themselves to grab control of the drones and point them at London. Next week I imagine the bombs will start to drop.

Bauer Bingo words this week: 'Putting you on speaker' and the old favourite 'Within the hour'.

Rating:
7
Topics:
Tuesday, May 20, 2014 - 08:44 by Spindles

We kick off this week with another wonderful back and forth between Tyrion and Jaime. Somehow I get the feeling that these two had immense fun recording all these prison scenes as Tyrion, despite his precarious position, lists all the things Jaime has managed to get up to over the last few years and is still somehow the best boy. Jaime takes himself out of the running as Tyrion's champion and promises to go and get Bronn after dropping the bombshell that Cersei has named The Mountain as her champion.

There's a nice few shots of The Mountain making offal out some some prisoners/slaves. I'm not really sure what they are, but they aren't around long enough to discover why he's chopping them into little bits. At this point we really want The Hound to come back and face The Mountain as Tyrion's champion, but he's still off with Arya in the wilderness somewhere. Precisely where I'm still not entirely sure of either, there seems to be a lot of looting and pillaging going on in the area as they come across a dying farmer next to the burnt out remains of his home. We then get a scene where we get to see a slightly more merciful side of The Hound as he puts the farmer out of his misery until suddenly it's all arms and legs flailing as someone tries to bite his head off. The Hound quickly despatches his attacker and rounds on another, one of Arya's captors from last season I think. He tells them that there's a bounty out for The Hound and that Joffrey is dead before he is very quickly added to and then struck off Arya's kill list with a swift stab to the heart. Nice.

Jon Snow and The Night's Watch are still arguing in Castle Black. This time it's about sealing up the tunnel in the wall, which they eventually decide not to do and will obviously be their undoing at a later date. Why they're not up to their necks in Wildlings already at this point I'm not sure as we've not seen what Ygritte and her merry band are up to for a couple of episodes now.

Bronn is the next to be crossed off Tyrions list of champions as he basically wants to get himself married and get a castle rather than be impaled by The Mountain. I can't really blame him, although I can't help but feel that this change in Bronn has come about very quickly and seemingly out of nowhere as he was last seen teaching Jaime sword fighting at Tyrion's behest. Obviously feel free to correct me if I have missed something here.

There's a bit more flitting around catching up with people in various locations. Daenerys has a fling with Daario before sending him off to murder a bunch of people. Scary smoke baby lady has a bath. Daenerys changes her mind and decides to give the masters a warning before she has them all executed. Then there's another great scene between Arya and The Hound as we hear a bit of his background while Arya helps stitch him up after The Attack Of The Bitey Mad Man. Then Brienne and Podrick get a lead as to Arya's wherabouts from one of the other kids that got captured and left behind at an inn last season and they trek off towards the Eyrie.

Back in Tyrion's cell, Prince Oberyn comes in for a chat and tells a lovely tale of the first time he met Tyrion when he was a baby. He tells of how vicious Cersei was even as a child and also that her fascination for penises belonging to her brothers seems to have also began at a young age. He also says how King's Landing is full of the people he wants to kill as revenge for what happened to his sister and her children and that he will begin his spree with The Mountain. So, it looks like Tyrion has a champion after all.

Finally, we close out this week in the Eyrie. Sansa gives a well deserved slap to yet another insufferable little prick of a prince before Littlefinger finally reveals that he's got a bit of a thing for her. This is, of course, witnessed by Lysa who confronts Sansa and threatens to throw her out of the moon door. But, just in the nick of time, The Dread Pirate Littlefinger comes to her aid and has a nice, soothing chat with his wife before he hurls her out of the moon door. Yarrrrr.

Quote of the week
Oberyn
It’s rare to meet a Lannister who shares my enthusiasm for dead Lannisters.

Rating:
8
Topics:
Wednesday, May 14, 2014 - 15:21 by Spindles

Okay... First off... It's just plain wrong seeing Jack in a typical London boozer. Furthermore, it's even more wrong when Jack and Chloe actually refer to it as a pub. It just sounds weird. Bauer finds the poor sap who had his head blown off in the toilets on last week's episode and gives chase to his murderer. After once again letting their only lead escape, Chloe drops a figurative bomb on the proceedings. It appears that her husband Morris and son Prescott were killed and it all seems to tie in with the fact that she was in the loop on Jack's disappearance at the end of last season. 

The suits make preparations to hand Jack over to the Russians which is about as likely to happen as William Devane and Stephen Fry sealing their special relationship with an on screen smooch. Boudreau is so intent on making sure that Audrey and Jack's paths never cross that he fakes Heller's signature on the executive order, thus sealing his own fate later on in the show. I fear that this is all going to go down in a very similar way to what happened between Audrey's last husband and Jack.

The big baddie's daughter seems to have discovered a wormhole as she is miraculously teleported from Central London to a mansion in the middle of the countryside in order to have a nice chat with her mum while Jack and Chloe are sightseeing around the London Eye. The terrorists look to be planning on blowing up Buckingham Palace, 10 Downing Street, The Houses of Parliament, Euston, Charing Cross and Liverpool Street stations. However, they hit a setback in their nefarious plans in that Yates used a non-standard bus on the hardware meaning at least an hour's delay. Thank god for the reliability of London Buses to cause delays eh?

Back in the NerdCave, Bauer and Cross get embroiled in a gravelly voice and staring competition which seems to result in a bit of a stalemate. After a few witty barbs are traded between the two, Jack finally says the magic word and Team Nerd spring into action to get Jack access to Heller although Cross plans to get Jack into trouble when he tries to use the credentials.

Back with Kate, the threat of dropping Basher off at a thrash metal gig seems to be enough to make the London hard man spill his guts to the CIA and he gives them what little information he possesses rather than get dumped into the middle of a mosh pit.

The last couple of minutes see Prime Minister Fry finally getting some quality screen time and Heller feels the full force of a sternly shouted British word or two. Jack gets scuppered at the door to the embassy due to Cross' meddlings and so starts a stampede in order to gain access. The episode ends a tad abruptly in my opinion, and once again with not a lot actually seeming to have happened. Hopefully the show will pick up pace a bit as next week brings the first third to a close, which is generally when 24 starts to kick into gear.

Rating:
6
Topics:
Tuesday, May 13, 2014 - 12:25 by Spindles

Well then. So this week we finally get to lay eyes on the much talked about Iron Bank of Braavos. It's really not that far removed from my vision of a Gringotts-esque operation after all. Although rather than Warwick Davies being in charge, we seem to have a rather beardy Mark Gatiss. Stannis and Ser Davos manage to persuade the bearded banker that they should get all the money instead of Tywin Lannister and Tommen based on the fact that the Onion Knight chopped off his own fingers. Next week, Jaime will be trading in his missing hand for a new suit of armour and a shiny belt.

Speaking of having things chopped off we're back with what's left of Theon! His sister mounts a rescue attemps but to no avail and, during the battle, we get to see exactly how hard Ramsay Snow is as he partakes in a nice bout of post coital stabbing without even bothering to get dressed properly. Reek then gets his birthday bath as Ramsay plots to send him under cover as .... Himself.

It would appear that I was correct about what the dragons have been up to as well. They're basically hanging around eating goats while Daenerys plays queen. Her conviction in her own decisions is tested a bit in this episode as it is discovered that her vengeance against the masters has included those that spoke out against what was done to the slaves. If things continue in this way she's going to have given away everything she has taken by the end of the series and end up travelling back to Westeros with nothing but her dragons and a few charred goat bones.

The rest of the episode deals with the murder trial, which proceeds exactly like the mockery of justice we were expecting as everyone lined up to put the boot in to poor Tyrion while he's down. None quite so spectacularly as Shae, who we thought happily out of the picture, who not only sticks the knife in, but twists it around a bit, pulls it out, sticks it back in again, jiggles it up and down, pulls it out again, pours lemon juice, vinegar and salt on the open wounds and then repeatedly punches him in the testicles for good measure.

Tyrion seems to take most of this in good spirits and then spectacularly snaps with a wonderfully scathing speech before pulling his special move again. Apparently he can request a trial by combat after all. Sweet.... So do we think it's going to be Bronn or Jaime who takes up the sword for Tyrion this time? And who's going to fight for Cersei? All these questions and more are answered in A Song of Ice and Fire available now from pretty much bogging everywhere. Or, like me, come back and watch the show again next week.

Quote of the week:
Tyrion
Watching your vicious bastard die gave me more relief than a thousand lying whores. 

Rating:
8
Topics:
Wednesday, May 7, 2014 - 00:34 by Spindles

Straight in with episode 2. I love that 24 does big season openers with multi episodes.

The hunt for Jack begins and there's dissention in the CIA ranks as not everyone is happy with Kate being re-instated to help with the search. We're reminded that, not only was she the only one who knew Jack was up to something, but also that she didn't see whatever was wrong with her ex partner/lover/whatever he was. So she's basically a human being.

The Girl with the Many Tattoos returns to her nerdcave and who should be there, but good ole gravelly voice himself: Michael Wincott who appears to be some kind of King of the Nerds, Adrian Croft. We find out that Jack's plan is to find a hacker type who was formerly party of Chloe's group and is now plotting to assassinate Heller. The troops are mobilised and set to work. Go Team Nerd!

Oh look... Catelyn Stark appears to be this season's big baddie. At least she's managed to finally move on from The Red Wedding, unless of course that's why she wants to kill Heller. Maybe she found out that he ordered the hit. You know what kind of reach the US government has these days.

OMFG IT'S PRIME MINISTER FRY!!!!! The awesome quotient of this episode just got cranked up to blitzkreig. Some stuff happened that I'm really not sure about as it took a while for my squee levels to die down. Hope it isn't too important.

Jack is in whisper mode once again as he and Chloe talk over each other's motivations and what they've ben up to for the last four years. Chloe has gone all Millennium on the world and Jack seems to be trying to set his karma straight with the Hellers. It looks like Jack's off to crack some heads on a council estate. Wonder if he'll run into Jeremy Kyle deploying his chav net to catch guests for his show? I can't wait to see Jack and the Hellers on 'My daughter's ex got her kidnapped, drugged and mind controlled.'

In what can only be an homage to The Crow, the wayward hacker, Yates, says that the victims of the friendly fire incident were 'Already dead, they just didn't know it'.

Jack and Chloe's assault on the high rise is quick and brutal, with Jack proving once again how awesome he is at taking down multiple opponents. Everything gets a bit hairy and Jack is genuinely surprised to run into the CIA, even more so when he take his first flesh wound of the season from a guy so hard that he shoots people while trying to hold his artery closed. Jack plants the first seeds with Kate that he's not as much of a bad guy as everyone thinks. One day he'll realise that this approach works better when you don't headbutt the person you're talking to in the face.

Typically, the one lead they have gets away and the information that was left behind gave them a brief hint as to the larger plan before self destructing. And, in true 24 style. the one lead gets horribly murdered by surprise baddy #1.

Another solid episode as we see the pieces being moved into positions for the rest of the season, but I still feel that we've not yet had a big bang to set this day alight. 

Rating:
7
Topics:
Tuesday, May 6, 2014 - 23:41 by Spindles

And we're back. Split screen action from the outset as we're wandering around an East London market until it cuts quickly into a CIA field office. I'm immediately confused as to what Agent Sarah Walker is doing in London... Especially without Chuck. The show wastes no time throwing Jack straight into the middle of a fight. The years off screen don't seem to have dulled Jack in the slightest. If anything he seems even more kick ass than I remember. 

James Heller is now President of the US, which is awesome as he's one of my all time favourite characters in the 24 verse so It's fantastic to see him back. Seeing Michael Wincott's name in the credits sends a shiver down my spine since he's one of my favourite actors and I can't wait to see what he's up to in this.

Everyone seems a bit on edge that Jack is there as he's obviously never been cleared of the events at the end of the last season and has somewhat of a difficult history with the Hellers. First of the familiar phrases kicks in at 17 minutes with a 'Set Bauer up in interrogation'.

Kate seems to think that Bauer's up to something and got caught on purpose, but no-one else agrees. I foresee a conversation at some point in the not too distant future that uses the phrase 'I was the only one who thought something was wrong'. She seems to have all of the requisite traits of a Bauer-Babe: Disgraced blonde officer with a history involving a traitorous ex. Need I go on?

25 minutes in we are suddenly presented with a heavily tattooed Chloe who seems to be getting tortured. She must have fallen a very long way indeed from being Director of CTU at the end of Day 8. Mind you, that job has never been known to enhance any character's lifespan in the entire run of the show.

At this stage we only have a couple of the required parts of the 24 formula: Politicians who will inevitably end up making decisions that put Jack in jeopardy and a base to run ops from full of agents that will likely turn out to include at least one mole. We still need a bad guy.

Over 40 minutes in and we finally get Jack's first line. A wonderfully, menacingly whispered 'Take me to her now'. Ah. Welcome back Jack. I've missed you.The music swells as he and Chloe make a run for it and I wipe away stray tear from the corner of my eye. After the excitement of the escape we catch up with another one of the 24 alumni, Audrey Raines and we discover that Heller may well be experiencing the beginnings of alzheimers.

And there we are... With only a couple of minutes to go, Kate says 'I was the only one who saw this coming.' Damn, I'm good.

The last few minutes of the episode would seem to suggest that the plot for this series will be revolving around drone warfare.

So, initial thoughts: Not the most spectacular of season openers in fact it's probably one of the most understated ones so far. Still it's great to be back in the 24 verse. There are loads of old favourites in play, a few new faces and a whole cast of people behind the curtain waiting to be revealed. Welcome back 24, it's good to see you.

Rating:
7
Topics:
Tuesday, May 6, 2014 - 12:50 by Ferg

Helen and I finally got an afternoon / evening together and figured, what the Hell, it's time to hit that precarious reboot slot called Robocop.

Now, for the record, I did like the original - I've always like Paul Verhoven's style, his portrayal of the media, his overzealous gore and, ultimately, the viciousness of his characters.  The Robocop of old, starring Peter Weller, had all of that in abundance and, in my opinion, conveyed the points better than the likes of Starship Troopers.  There's still no replacement for the scene in the original whereby a smouldering, half dead villain, grotesquely mauled by the chemicals that have recently consumed him, staggers out in to the alley ways around the abandoned factory and is turned in to salsa as a car simply goes through him like a hammer hits a (red) water balloon.

But they had to do something different this time.  Ultimately, as good as the original was, the climate is different, the audiences have changed and the FX are so much better.

The new Alex Murphy is alright - he's quite likable, especially when Joel Kinnaman finally shrugs off those pesky Human morals and starts wailing on the punishment.
Having said that, punishment is a bit of an odd one in this: the majority of the kills in the original movie were people who bleed, scream and thrash about in agony.  Not this time.  The majority of the kills are drones, robots and ED 209s to begin with, but as the story unfolds suddenly the 'Justice For All' motif starts to shine through.  And suddenly people are shot unceremoniously in teh face with high caliber rounds... but still no shower of blood.  No visceral splatterings, no bullet riddled corpses being hurled out of 80th storey windows and no mutated pinata drive-bys.

Am I disappointed by that... actually, no, I'm not.

In fact, I much prefer the idea that RoboCop is more the police officer than the killing machine - combat synthetics not-withstanding, but this was upposed to be a story about an investigation and not about endless show-boating with big guns.

Some folks were put out by the way that Murphy becomes RoboCop.  That he should have survived being shot with over dozen shotgun shells from multiple angles (removing his hand and arm and effectively eviscerating his abdomen and upper torso.  The car bomb in the reboot worked for me.  Legit, moderately effective, gave a nice angle for the family story and explained why they had to remove his legs, skeleton, stomach and... well... everything else.

Ad here lies the most valuable scenes for the new movie: the inclusion of the fmaily - the anchor for Murphy's humanity.  The investigation in to his own attempted murder - the anger that allows him to re-write some of the programming.  And last, but by no means least, the final confrontations - and with a supporting cast that really seemed to believe in what they were selling us.
Gary Oldman does not pick a bad movie.  Samual L Jackson plays roles he knows he's going to enjoy.  Kevin Costner, when not working on his own movies or getting crap scripts like that in Superman: Man of CGI, gets to play a villain which is a role he can play PERFECTLY.  As the fiendish CEO of Omnicorp Costner is alight with enthusiasm, treachery and malice.  His greed is sublime to watch as it oozes out of every pore.

Additionally, the original never suggested that RoboCop was invulnerable, but he was slower than a slug through treacle.  Seriously, even Stormtroopers could hit him (given enough time).  But in this, they've made it clear that while smallarms will just annoy him, high caliber rounds can be quite serious and if any of the organs that are left of Murphy are damaged, he could well be dead before he knows what's hit him.  .50 cal or above is the mandate - don't succumb to snipers et al.
So they made him considerably more agile.  I can cope with that.  It was about time.  Plus, adding the ability to jump greater distances, enhanced strength and better accuracy made it a more plausible combat cyborg for the audience.

But this was a human story - it was about waking up after your body has been ruined.  It was about trying to reconnect with a family who, to all intents and purposes, believed you could already be dead and the machine is just offering false hope.  It covers a few topics with some superb actors really showing us that no matter how cheesy a script can be (and BOTH RoboCops are as cheesy as it gets) it can be pulled off with dignity. 

In short, with regards to the new RoboCop, 'I'd buy that for a dollar!' 

Rating:
8
Topics:
Monday, May 5, 2014 - 17:14 by Spindles

This week's episode seemed again to be more filler than killer. Although there certainly was a fair amount of killing towards the end.

We begin with the coronation of King Tommen the 'how long will this one last' and at this point I'm finding the phrase 'Long may he reign' to be more of an earnest plea to the gods from the Lanister's point of view rather than a celebration of their king. Margaery is still sniffing around and has a bit of a chat with Cersei about the forthcoming nuptuals and how much of a little prick Joffrey actually was. Athough I do think Margaery is pushing it a bit with her jibes about mother and sister. I fear she may well end up with a sword through the neck before long if this continues.

Daenerys finally hears about Joffrey's demise through the jungle vine and briefly considers actually getting on with what she should be doing in terms of attacking Kings Landing before forgetting all about it and turns back to re-overthrowing the cities that she has already freed now that they have carelessly become re-enslaved. Once again the dragons are notable by their absence.

Sansa looks like she might actually get a bit of a break this week as she is re-united with some of her family in the Eyrie. This lasts for all of about five minutes until it turns out that her aunt is actually a complete barking hatstand and is basically going to lock her up until she marries her son. You can actually see all her hopes and dreams draining from her face as the realisation hits her. Well played. On Accent Watch this week, it seems that Littlefinger slips back into his more familir posh boy cadence the moment his feet hit dry land. Weird.

There's a bit more about the Iron Bank so I'm even more convinced now that this is going to be a big plot point at some juncture. At this juncture I'm convinced it's a wholly owned franchise of Gringotts and fully expect to see Warwick Davies turning up soon demanding his sickles and knuts.

Then we're treated to some more of the Arya/Hound interplay that I've come to love so much. Arya really is kick ass these days, not only naming The Hound basically to his face as one of the people she wants to kill, but also full-on stabbing him at one point. I can see an episode coming soon where Arya basically goes mental and kills anyone in her path. That will be epic.

We arrive then at the key moment of the week as Jon and the Night's Watch attack Craster's Keep. It is a typically blood soaked afffair, the highlight of which is Owen from Torchwood having a sword rammed through his mouth (FOR HODOR!). Speaking of Hodor, Bran once again takes over Hodor's body in a bid to keep himself from being kidnapped and end up snapping Locke in two. I have to give full respect to Kristian Nairn for his acting in this episode as we see Hodor being confused and disgusted by what he has apparently done and we can't help but feel sorry for him being used in this way. There is a moment here similar to Arya almost being re-united with her family before the Red Wedding as Bran sees Jon and ultimately decided that he has to press on without him if he is to achieve his goals over the relative safety of being in Castle Black.

And, of course, Jon gets his wolf back. Awwwww.

Quote of the week:
The Hound
I bet his hair is greasier than Joffrey's cunt. 

Rating:
6
Topics:

Latest Podcasts

We watch the second part of Due South's first 2 parter Chicargo Holiday. The creepy taxi driver is back, Ray gets caught in the shaft, Michelle forgets how the show works and Squee started drinking...
After we talk about going to London for the premier of indie Movie Shooting Clerks, we check out part 1 of Chicargo Holiday. The inapropreate Taxi driver hitting on a recently 16 year old girl, the...
Hola Internet, on this week's show, we talk about all the shiny new movies we've got to look forward to this year, round up our favourites of the current crop of TV shows, review Three Billboards...